Burning Man I

Burning Man is right around the corner, which means I am basically one year behind… oh well.
So last year I decided to attend Burning Man. I had heard many different things about Burning Man over the years. The first was my freshman year of college when a dirty hippie gentleman wandering around campus tried to sell myself and some friends tickets. We inquired “What is Burning Man?” to which he replied “If you don’t know, you don’t need to go man!” First off, that isn’t true at all. Second, “What is Burning Man?” is a question that many try to answer. I will not. I had a great time with great friends and made a few photos while I was at it. I didn’t actually break out the camera that much (I was in a bit of a photographic slump at the time) but Eliot and Spencer both did a bang-up job and made some really amazing photos.
One thing I will say about Burning Man is “context”. You see, generally everything at Burning Man is out of context. For example, if you were going to attend a costume party and the theme was, say, cartoons, you would not be too surprised if a grown man showed up with a Sponge Bob Square Pants doll wearing a Sponge Bob themed hat, shirt, and undies. At Burning Man you don’t get to know why this man decided that would be a good outfit, you just get to watch him do handstands. I suppose you could ask, but if you stopped to ask why out there you wouldn’t get too far. So for that reason, here are my photos, no background, no context.

 

IMG_8958_750px-2

IMG_9215-Edit_750px

IMG_9217-Edit_750px

IMG_9314-Edit_750px

Click For Larger

IMG_9386-Edit2H_750px

IMG_9406-Edit_750px

IMG_9493-Edit_750px

IMG_9667_750px

Thanks for taking a look! More to come soon.

3 thoughts on “Burning Man I

Leave a Reply

